Reflective Teaching-Let’s reflect a bit more…

on

In this opportunity I am contacting you to invite you to watch the following video on reflective teaching and then leave you own reflecting on it and your own practice. So let’s get started!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Mónica Lanzillotta says:

    When I saw this video I felt that we need to be constantly reflecting on our teaching and that in general all the teachers have the same wishes and fears about how to improve in order to get better results. As teacher we need to be humble because our students teach us,too.

    I don´t know which are the guides mentioned in the video. Could you tell me, please? I will see the video again.

  2. Marcela Grillo says:

    I think that, in some way or another, we are always reflecting on our teaching. I myself always look at what happens in the class and try to improve it; that’s why self-analysis is really important. The problem arouses when teachers are not allowed to work freely, and they have to stick to syllabuses, contents or methods which are not appropriate for the groups they are teaching. It used to happen to me, and I really felt tied to structured lessons which didn’t attract me; so it was hard for me to turn those lessons into appealing ones for my students. Now, my experience is different; not only because I’m working somewhere else and I feel free to work and teach according to the needs of each group, but also because since I started studying I have learned many strategies and got many ideas which help me prepare my lessons and change them when I realize that they don’t suit my students’ demands.

  3. Celeste says:

    I consider that reflecting on our teaching is a very important point. It helps us to improve and innovate our lessons. For example, sometimes, teachers think that the use of visual material will make the lesson more attractive. In a way, that is true but sometimes it is not followed by an interesting explanation or activity. So, it is not useful for our students. I used to prepare a lot of visual aids, such as flashcards and posters, and I realized that it is not enough when you catch students’ attention but for a while. So, when it happened to me, I had to innovate my lessons. If your students are not following you is because of a problem, that you have to solve. We, as teachers, have to think about what happens in our classroom because it will help us and our students.

Leave a comment